John Coltrane "Plays For Lovers " CD -
  • John Coltrane "Plays For Lovers " CD -
  • John Coltrane "Plays For Lovers " CD -
  • John Coltrane "Plays For Lovers " CD -
  • John Coltrane "Plays For Lovers " CD -

John Coltrane "Plays For Lovers " CD -


Coltrane for Lovers is a compilation album featuring recordings by American jazz saxophonist-composer John Coltrane, released posthumously on January 23, 2001, by Impulse! Records. Its tracks were recorded during December 1961 to April 1963 at engineer Rudy Van Gelder's recording studio in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey. The first in the Verve for Lovers series by Verve Records, the album contains eleven of Coltrane's romantic ballads recorded during his early years with Impulse! Records. The songs feature Coltrane's classic quartet and collaborations with vocalist Johnny Hartman and pianist Duke Ellington. The recordings compiled for Coltrane for Lovers initially received criticism for Coltrane's stylistic move from complex jazz compositions of the free jazz form to a simplistic formula of ballads and blues. Following the initial controversy, the album's recordings gained a legacy as one of Coltrane's most popular recordings and significant in the genre of romantic jazz. The tracks were compiled by producer Richard Seidel and remastering engineer was Allan Tucker at Foothill Digital, New York City. Coltrane for Lovers was issued 33 years after Coltrane's death and nearly 40 years after the original recording dates. The album peaked at number ten on the Top Jazz Albums chart and received positive reviews from most critics.


100% secure payments
  Security policy

(edit with the Customer Reassurance module)

  Delivery policy

(edit with the Customer Reassurance module)

  Return policy

(edit with the Customer Reassurance module)

Song List

  1. I Want To Talk About You Written-By – Billy Eckstine
  2. Violets For Your Furs Written-By – Dennis Adair
  3. Invitation Trumpet – Wilbur Harden Written-By – Bronislau Kamer
  4. Slow Dance Written-By – Alonzo Leviste
  5. Lush Life Drums – Louis Hayes Trumpet – Donald Byrd Written-By – Billy Strayhorn
  6. Like Someone In Love Bass – Earl May Written-By – Van Heusen-Burke
  7. Stardust Flugelhorn – Wilbur Harden Written-By – Hoagy Carmichael
  8. While My Lady Sleeps Piano – Mal Waldron Trumpet – Johnny Splawn Written-By – Kaper Kahn
  9. You Leave Me Breathless Written-By – Hollander Freed
1 Item